Miami-Dade Police Department

The Miami-Dade Police Department (MDPD), formerly known as the Metro-Dade Police Department (1981–1997), Dade County Public Safety Department (1957–1981), and the Dade County Sheriff’s Office (1836–1957), is a county police department serving Miami-Dade County. The MDPD has approximately 4,700 employees, making it the largest police department in the southeastern United States and the eighth largest in the country. The Department is still often referred by its former name, the Metro-Dade Police or simply Metro.


Formed: 1836

Director of Police:3 Alfredo Ramirez

Annual budget: $116.9 million (2020)

Headquarters: “111 NW 1st Street, 25th Floor Miami, FL 33128311”

SKU: 14.00 Categories: ,